Some people believe that exams are the best way to assess a student's ability. Others think that continuous assessment, such as coursework and projects, is more effective. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been an ongoing debate as to whether which is the most optimal way to evaluate students’ performance, standardized testing or continuous assessment. While there are some valid advantages to continuous evaluation, I contend that one-time exams are more accurate and holistic.

One of the primary upsides of ongoing assessment is lower stress levels. Considering that the evaluation is spread over time and not a one-time snapshot, students can focus on small tasks, allowing them to juggle workloads better. Furthermore, when there are monthly tests, students are put less strain and pressure, thus performing to the best of their abilities and contributing to their mental well-beings. Another prominent advantage is that it encourages consistent effort. Because students are tested continuously not just at the end, various quizzes, assignments and projects motivate them to participate and study consistently, therefore helping them to develop constructive routines and retain knowledge longer.

Despite the benefits of continuous evaluation, I believe standardized testing is more authentic. Exams provide more accurate evaluation, as it is conducted under the same conditions for all students, which is not the case with the ongoing assessment. Provided the holistic environment, students answer the same questions and are marked with strict evaluation schemes. This paves way for teachers to compare students’ knowledge and performance objectively. The further benefit is overcoming pressure. Students are ought to quickly recall and apply knowledge, as the questions are taken from wide array of topics and time is constrained. This exam pressure helps them work in high stake situations and triumph over their fears, strengthening their exam skills and performance in difficult situations.

To conclude, even though there are obvious advantages to continues evaluation, including reduced stress and encouragement, I believe one-time snapshots are more reliable and comprehensive, as it is more strictly assessed and is conducted under the same environment for everyone. evaluate my response please