Some people believe that exams are the best way to assess a student's ability. Others think that continuous assessment, such as coursework and projects, is more effective. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that tests are the best way of measuring ability of students, while other group believes it is better to use continuous assessment method. In my opinion, continuous assessment is the best approach, because it lets students get feedback on their work instantaneously, while those who debate for exams say it is a more objective way to grade the knowledge.

Continuous assessment lets students get feedback instantly. This method gives students a task (presentation, quiz) and a deadline, by which they must complete it, and teacher, while grading it, can point to mistakes and encourage learning on mistakes. For example, if the task is presentation based on what student learned, and teacher finds a mistake in it, he can explain properly the topic to student, avoiding further misunderstandings. This encourages pupils to not fear the mistakes, which is fundamental for education, as the fear of fail stops them from asking questions on what they didn’t understand.

Exams are objective way to grade one’s ability. Tests are the same for everyone, with questions of the same level based on what they have learned, thus, it is a fair method to measure their knowledge. For example, on maths final exam, every student gets the same problem sets, and based on how much attention they paid and how they understood, their skills are measured fairly. Therefore, it is a just approach, though it is vulnerable for cheating.