Some people believe that global warming is today's most pressing environmental problem. At the same time, some consider deforestation to have the most devastating impact on the world. Discuss both views and give your opinion on the same.

There is no doubt that Earth is experiencing devastating changes which keep rising at alarming rates. Many people believe that global warming is the primary causing factor while others think that deforestation has a greater impact. In my opinion, deforestation has negatively affected the earth; however, global warming has a greater effect since it impacts the weather, decreases biodiversity and causes extreme natural disasters. In this essay, I will discuss both views in turn.

Admittedly, Global warming led to a fearsome increase to the temperature of the planet which caused geographic destruction. To illustrate, As the atmosphere gets warmer, the earth trapes heat. As a result, polar regions witness melting glaciers, evaporation rates surge and rainfall increases, leading to sea level rise. This will then lead to more catastrophic weather such as floods and hurricanes, and extreme temperatures. One example on this is seen in the summer of 2024 where the temperature reached 50 degree celsius in Canada that caused the death of many people.

On the other hand, the large scale removal of forests is killing the wildlife. The forest is home to numerous species of plants and animals and by eliminating them, those species will eventually go extinct. For example, The deforestation of the Amazon for agricultural purposes forced many animals to flee the habitat. This loss in habitat will cause an imbalance in the ecosystem since animals will either die or move to urban areas. Hence, clearing forests will cause mass-extinction by destroying habitats.

In conclusion, the earth is facing many hardships like geographical changes caused by the rise in temperature. In addition, deforestation for agriculture is at the expenses of wildlife. Both have great effects on the earth with more impact from global warming.