Some people believe that government should spend money on building train and subway line to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is a better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People hold different views about whether constructing train and subway system or expanding road constructions to deal with traffic congestion. In my opinion, even though the latter might appear to be effective, the former brings far greater benefits.

On the one hand, some people might argue that road widening can ease congested traffic. One possible justification for this argument is that road expansion can accommodate to the increase in the number of personal vehicles. Additionally, there are more options for people by increasing the number of routes, which can potentially reduce traffic jams. However, improving more road constructions can lead to an increase in the number of vehicles, which is incapable of dealing with the problem at its root. Moreover, in major cities, there is often not enough space to widen roads or build new ones.

On the other hand, it would be more advantageous if the government allocate their resources to improving public transport systems. It can explained that this is a sustainable method to reduce the number of private vehicles on the roads. Take Japan as an example, which has a well-developed public transportation system and widely used by many people. As a result, this can be highly effective in not only easing traffic congestion but also providing environmental benefits.

In conclusion, for the reasons discussed above, I believe that the government should expenditure on establishing rail and metro lines rather than erecting more and more extensive roads. Citizens should be encouraged to use public transit services to lessen traffic density.