Some people believe that governments should invest more in public transportation instead of building new roads for cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some indivisuals comprehend that more money should be invested in public transportation rather than manufacturing new roads.I strongly agree with this statement.Government should spend more resources on public transport as it will be beneficial for common public and also it will help us a lot in reducing pollution.

Firstly, spending money on public transport will be very advantageous for the poor people.Everyone needs to travel from one place to another.For rich people it is easy to move one city to another because they have their own private transport.On the other hand, common public do not have such luxury.So subsidies like public transport will prove to be a boon to common people as they are very cheap.For instance, I completed my intermediate in a college outside my city.I did not have any personal transport so I travelled via local government van daily.It helped me a lot in those days.

Secondly, allocating more resources for public transport will help greatly in reducing pollution.If a lot of people use their own transport, there will be a lot of fossil fuel emission which will result in a lot of carbon dioxide emission.In contrast, if we use public transport there is less utilization of fossil fuels resulting in low emission of pollutants.As a result, there will be less pollution.To illustrate, in 2005 the amount of pollutants in atmosphere of Australia was rising dramatically due to the fact that public was using more cars instead of using trains or buses.So government invested more money in public transport and raised awareness among the people.As a result, the was a huge decline in pollution in Australia.

In a nutshell, government should allocate more resourses in public transport instead of building roads as it would be advantageous for all the people and also it would play a vital role in reducing pollution.