Some people believe that governments should not provide international aid when they have unemployment and homelessness in their country. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often thought that countries should help other countries only when there people are selfsufficent and there are no problems like unemployment and homelessness. In my view, one should first help themselve before helping other, therefore I fully agree with this stance. In this essay I will make my case for agreeing with the essay topic.

Firstly, any government is first and formost responsible for it’s people and therefor is answerable to them. Because a goverment is a contract between the people and state, thus it is their duty to take care of them. If a goverment fail to do so, it will loose the trust of its people which could lead various problems. For instance, if a family is struggling to put food on table, the figure head will never think of giving away the little food they have to someone else. Similarly, any government should first help and solve problems of its people before helping other countries.

On the other hand, helping other countries and neglecting issues in ones own country can cause potential chaos. People would feel neglected which can lead to many problems, such as protests, fights, theft, and civil war. One example in present day is that of America, where homelessness is high and unemployment is rising due o the current government policies.

In conclusion, while helping out a developing or under developed country is a nobal cause, it should not come at the expense of ones own people. I believe interests of your country should come first.