Some people believe that governments should not provide international aid when they have unemployment and homelessness in their country. Do you agree or disagree?

International aid is the transfer of goods or services from a country or international organization to benefit another country. Support can be economical or humanitarian. Some think that their government should not spend on international aid because there are underprivileged people in their own country. I completely agree with this idea. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I shall explain why countries should give priority to their internal problems.

Firstly, a developed country should examine its debt ceiling before volunteering to help other countries. The US is a classic example. According to a survey, the US national debt was about $26 trillion in June 2020. It has increased to almost 800% of what it was in 1989. This would bring down the value of the dollar and impact negatively on the economy and international investments. Eventually, it would aggravate the unemployment problem within the country. So it is high time that the nation concentrated on reducing its debts rather than contributing to international aid. If these countries continue to fund other nations, it will cause serious social unrest within their country. There is no evidence that the countries receiving foreign aid are progressing economically. Also, according to a survey, foreign aid consumes a considerable amount in the budget which can be used for the nation’s welfare. Furthermore, the countries receiving support are not committed to remaining loyal to the donor country in times of crisis and may not yield to the donor’s interests. Donor countries also need to be wary of the fact that they contribute only their share and don’t overdo the aid. Despite the fact that developed countries should be merciful on third world countries, I feel that intra-governmental development should gain priority over helping others.

In conclusion, though it is deemed merciless to stop funding the underdeveloped countries, it should be noted that solving the intragovernmental problems in a developed country is of more importance. Only a self-sustained country will be able to donate generously to other countries.