Some people believe that housing is a basic human right for all individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that having a roof above one’s head is the main human right for all individuals. I agree to this extent, as I suppose that a home is key to survival in all times, and living without having your own place would make your existence nearly impossible.

First of all, I think that having a home is something that should be common in people’s lives since houses were needed in all times of humanity’s existence, which leads to understanding that it has a crucial impact. Housing is a big part of everyone’s life and it is also an essential “item”, so it should be affordable for everyone since it plays such a primary role in existence. In this case, the statement that was mentioned earlier is correct, in my opinion.

Second of all, life itself is already difficult, with its harsh conditions to survive, especially for homeless people; that is why housing is important for everyone. Living on the streets, where there is a high chance of catching illnesses due to low temperatures and lack of hygiene, and where wild animals might pose a threat to your life as well, having a home is one of the very needed things. For example, even at this moment, somewhere in the world, people might be dying out there due to bad health or even rabies that people could get from animals.

In conclusion, many people believe that housing is people’s first right, and I agree with this statement because having a roof above one’s head is a common need for any person.