Some people believe that in the future, environmental problems will mean that we are unable to live on this planet. In order to survive, the human species will need to find another planet that can support life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that humans will be unable to live on Earth in the next few years because of natural catastrophes, and a new planet will be the most viable solution to rescue humankind. This essay strongly disagrees with this statement because there is no nearby planet able to foster an inclusive environment for all Earth’s inhabitants, and the main disruption source is humans, not the planet itself.

Firstly, it is nearly impossible to gain access to a planet as prosperous as Earth. The solar system does not contain a single planet with proper conditions to support life; for instance, Mars does not contain an atmosphere, nor does any water exist on it. Furthermore, planets that resemble Earth in its features cannot be reached by current technology, nor by light speed. For instance, PS120, which is the nearest watery planet from Earth, is 1000 light-years away from it.

In addition to it being impossible to find a new planet, humans’ activities are those that cause detrimental environmental problems. For instance, humanity is obsessed with improving its current facilities at the expense of nature; as a consequence, the frequency of these phenomena is increasing worldwide. Similarly, if humans went to another planet, they would destroy it as well. For example, the increase in carbon dioxide percentage by about 5% has made the planet more prone to witnessing higher temperatures by about 1 degree Celsius per year.

In conclusion, it is certainly impossible to find a new planet with the required capacity for all humans irrespective of Earth. In addition, authorities are neglecting that the main problem arises from humans, who can destroy any other planet if their activities remain consistent.