Some people believe that in the future, environmental problems will mean that we are unable to live on this planet. In order to survive, the human species will need to find another planet that can support life.

Undoubtedly, the Industrial Revolution has led humanity towards a remarkable historical era, filled with outstanding scientific discoveries, as well as an overall improvement in the quality of life. However, the use of fossil fuels as sources of energy is argued to be one of the main reasons for climate change nowadays. Furthermore, air, soil and water pollutions play a major role in altering ecosystems, posing a major threat to our future as inhabitants of the planet earth.

As a result of such alarming news, the idea of looking for different planets to inhabit has begun to rise among scientific communities. Indeed, after the discovery of water on Mar’s surface, space exploration companies such as NASA have begun to investigate the possibility of sending human colonies to our space neighbour. Additionally, the discovery of the so-called “exoplantes”, and their similarity to our home (in terms of atmosphere and temperature) puts us closer to a future where humanity could live in a earth-like celestial body.

Nevertheless, the main issue of this perspective lies in the scientific progress. Even though the exoplanets are very similar to our globe, the hundres of thousands of light years of distance make it impossible for us to do interplanetary trips of such mole. In fact, our current knowledge and our technlogies are not advanced enough to allow us to navigate the tissue of space-time efficiently enough. Moreover, the environmental problems that earth is currently facing do not give us enough time to found colonies on Mars. Indeed, scientific communities believe that It is already too late, and we are already facing negative consequences.

To conclude, it is essential to focus on our planet, because our current knowledge and our technical discoveries do not allow us to save humanity by moving to a different planet.