Some people believe that it is important for parents to read or tell stories to their children. Others say that in the modern world, parents don't have to do this because children have so many other sources for stories, like books, movies and TV.

Stories play a crucial role in child development, with some saying parents do not need to be in charge of storytelling due to the precense of many other sources. However, others claim that parents should be responsible for that. I strongly agree with the latter view, as that way is more than only delivering words and events.

On the one hand, it is true that there are many different sources for stories that can replace parents as storytellers. This is in part due to technological advancements, which have offered unparalleled opportunities such as animation. More importantly, books, cartoons and films tend to be more appealing to children, as they find these new sources of stories easier to imagine and understand. Moreover, these different sources might be helpful for parents, who are often busy and struggle to find time for their children. Most individuals, such as builders, now work long hours and return home feeling exhausted. This makes it hard for them to tell a story to their kids before bed.

These arguments notwithstanding, my view is that parents should read stories to their children. In this way, children are more likely to listen and learn, who often follow their parents in many cases. The effectiveness of stories will be significantly higher, encouraging good qualities among young people. For instance, grandparents are known to play a key role in personal growth of children, mostly with their stories that emphasize positive traits such as loyalty. Furthermore, children may struggle to find the right sources and end up with inappropriate ones. This shows the importance of parental guidance, in terms of stories as well. In fact, it is parents who know the exact topic and style that can be useful for their children. By way of example, young people often listen to stories consistently if they are chosen and told by their parents, yet may encounter some unsuitable content once they search independently.

In conclusion, parents should tell stories to children on a regular basis, although other sources might also be advantageous. This ensures appropriacy and effectiveness, with parental guidance in choice of stories and parents’ strong influence on personal development of their children.