Some people believe that it is possible for a country to be economically successful and have a clean environment. Others argue that these two aims are not compatible. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are different views regarding the country’s possibility to achieve success in the economy and sustaining the environment’s cleanliness. While some people argue that it is an impossible task to do, others strongly believe the goal is still achievable. I personally agree with the latter idea because the advancement in current technology is capable of helping a country to achieve both objectives.

It is well known that one of the main drivers of economic growth in one country is local businesses, as simple as the more the transactions the bigger the impact. To fulfil big demand from the market, many ventures are required to mass-produce their products. In addition to that, heavy supply chain and logistic networks are essential to them for reaching more customers. Consequently, a high number of energy resources is needed to fully support those activities and many developing countries chose fossil-based sources more due to availability and processing capability. However, based on one independent study, the previously stated decision contributed to more than 70% of environmental pollution, especially in the air.

To solve that problem, many countries that already faced the same issue for many years, started to move to a greener policy. On top of growing their economy, they are challenged to find better alternative ways that also sustain the environment and they found it. Despite the difficulty, with the help of technology, some of them started to migrate to cleaner options for energy power plants, such as nuclear-based and biomass-based. Additionally, many countries also utilise the new available electronic transportation modes for handling the distribution. Those policies have proven successful in reducing the pollution from industries to only 15%, per 2013 research in 10 European countries.

In conclusion, despite the challenge, with the support of current technology, it is possible for a country to achieve an economically successful state while sustaining the level of environmental cleanliness.