Some people believe that learning a foreign language is essential for future success, while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion."

The topic of whether studying a foreign language at school is quite controversial. Some people believe that learning another language is essential, while others argue that it is not necessary. This essay will discuss both perspectives and provide my opinion on the issue.

People who support foreign-language learning at school believe that it helps children become more open-minded and globally aware. Indeed, children who know how to speak a foreign language have several advantages over others. Firstly, they would have more opportunities for their future education path, such as learning abroad or exchanging to another international school. In this way, they are able to expand their knowledge further and have a broader vision. Moreover, bilingual people often find it easier to get a decent job, such as white-collar jobs, because it is a valuable asset to communicate with foreigners, and many large companies’ positions require proficiency in a foreign language in order to be hired.

On the other hand, the opponents would argue that it is a waste of money to study a foreign language, and the children could feel frustrated as they are learning it. Moreover, many people think that children would not use the language at all, especially in countries where the official language is not English. People also believe that the learning process is time-consuming and costly, and could negatively influence other subjects, such as math, science, or social studies. Overall, they think the cost-benefit of learning a foreign language is low.

In my opinion, I would argue that studying a new language is necessary for children. Although they might not use this language in his/her life, the learning process could positively affect their cognitive ability and have a deeper understanding of other cultures. At the same time, I agree that learning a new language can help people become more open-minded and will definitely have a positive impact on job searching.

In conclusion, even though some people believe that learning a foreign language is a waste of time, I still think it is vital to learn a new language and the benefit will outweigh the cost.