Some people believe that men and women are equal and so women should be able to do any job they want. Others feel that men and women are not equal and therefore there are certain jobs which are not suitable for women. What is your opinion?

The notion that surrounds the idea of gender diversity continues to prevail among the talk of society as the common belief is that men and women are equivalent beings, thus women are allowed to have the same opportunities as men. However some would argue that both genders are not equal, which posits women are not capable of specific career options. The contrasting beliefs are valid, though I lean towards agreeing with the majority of the statements, I personally disagree with the statement that men and women are not equal. I would like to think that even though there might be differences in biological diversity and capabilities yet they are equal in value and respect.

Gender inequality has always been a controversial topic, yet it is what sets the stage for equal opportunities for women as well as for men. Since the start of society, men have been constantly the one who leads the global industries, while women stay home to tend to their children and clean the house. Due to the unending efforts of numerous feminist activists, women are given the chance to contribute in science, sports, offices, construction, and many other job prospects. However, the stigma remains, even if women are allowed to freely decide what career they want to pursue, their pay still holds significant hindrance to the supposed decisions. It is evident from the ongoing feminist activism acts in countries all over the world, demanding for equal pay. Equal pay would eventually mean the exact same respect given to women of society, as to not let other people see women as a lower value than men by rewarding their hard work with limited pay rates.

On the other hand, men and women are different. From the get-go, both genders totally differ in biological structures. Gender diversity should not mean gender hierarchy, a competition to see who sits on the lower end of the spectrum, but an appreciation of the differences each would exhibit. These distinctions should be embraced and acknowledged upon society, as it is the fact that men are much stronger than women, and that women are able to mentally multitask, better than men. Each gender has their own abilities and some career options might not be suitable for women to achieve or even men to uphold, which is acceptable. For instance, in sports, men and women have their own categories as it would not be fair for them to be equally matched with one another. Both have their own criteria and sports related circumstances that are adjusted to the gender’s capabilities.

At the end of the day, while the argument for men and women not being equal somewhat holds true to the extent of their biological differences and capabilities, both genders are still equal. Equality means value, which collocates the idea of being evenly respected as fellow humans of society without devaluing someone due to their gender. Every human deserves a chance to pursue their own job prospects and is responsible for their own livelihoods. Thus, I stand by the belief that men and women are different yet equal.