Some people believe that men and women are equal and so women should be able to do any job they want. Others feel that men and women are not equal and therefore there are certain jobs which are not suitable for women. What is your opinion?

The topic of gender equality at the workplace has not ceased to be a controversial one. There are people who support the idea that men and women are equal and able to choose their jobs, whereas other’s consider that biological differences among sexes dictate which particular job will be suitable for a woman. I adamantly oppose the notion of a woman being a slave to a certain profession:

Let’s first consider that it is misleading to restrict women to specific roles as this is based on negative stereotypes, which in turn cripples a female’s abilities. Women have left their imprints, no matter how famous or important, on many areas such as science and technology which were famously male dominated. For aspects of professional life, people like Marie Curie will forever praise that gender does not define capability at all.

Furthermore, better results are achieved by teams with different physical constitutions. One trend reveals that when leadership has a wider gender range, the organisation outmatches its competitors. This is primarily attributed to the fact that women have individual ideas which are crucial to creativity and any new innovation, hence their presence in all departments is important if an organisation seeks to succeed.

So, even though a distinction has been made in regard to the actual strength in some instances a woman may not reach certain jobs, there are some roles where the force of a woman is of no importance and that of skills and intelligence is. Also with current technological advancements it will be possible to perform tasks which may be physically disturbing or harmful.

A gender egalitarian society at every level will contribute to personal and social welfare. It is essential that women have the liberty of doing any profession of their choice; this will not only strengthen them but also enrich societies.