Some people believe that modern architecture has made cities more attractive in the last century. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

he architecture is an essential part of our lives. We face it every day everywhere: at school, at work, when we walk the dog or when we go out with friends or family. And some people argue that cities have become more appealing with contemporary buildings in the last 100 years. However, I think that the attractiveness of the area depends on its history and historical objects.

The main benefit of advanced buildings is that they construct more rapid than in the past, due to developing technologies. Because of level of medicine and medicine’s achievements, more people are coming into the world, and these may be the reason of high speed in building construction. Therefore, architects care not so much about quality as about quantity. Nowadays, there is such a concept as planned durability and reconstruction. Buildings have stopped being built with a soul, instead of it they began to be built as in a conveyor belt.

On the other hand, modern architecture designs such as minimalism or high-tech become more and more popular amount public now. and more people prefer living in the modern houses, than, for instance, in houses, which were built in the Baroque style in the 18th century. Moreover, the organisation of new residential compounds has a positive effect for old and derelict areas. Some poor parts of towns have been improved and developed with modern architecture and technologies. This makes resident’s lives easier and more convenient.

Thus, there are both benefits and drawbacks in contemporary architecture, however, I feel it would be better to renovate and restore old historical buildings to save cities’s beauty and memory of history.