Some people believe that modern architecture has made cities more attractive in the last century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the new styles in architecture occurred over the last century have had profound effect on cities appearance by making them more appealing. Personally, I believe that even modern buildings have outstanding look and convenient features we still ought to conserve and admire their historical counterparts.

On the one hand, since architectures are more knowledgeable on how to create convenient environment, new houses are built more practical in order to meet citizens requests. In addition to their practical benefits, modern buildings are more diverse and rich in their appearance by being this way they create a unique portrait of a city. For example, in my hometown we have a neighbourhood called “Moscow city”. It has spiralled skyscraper with bronze-coloured glass and two separated houses which have bridge uniting them.

On the other hand, old-fashioned buildings are invulnerable for history and culture, even if they could be considered to be outdated. Moreover, they represent the history of a city and periods which people have gone through, in turn, this stunning memory quality makes them vital in appearance of a city. In addition, vivid example of common history unites citizens. For instance, often houses owned by significant public persons, such as writers or politics, become museums, which attract locals who interested in their region.

Overall, both brand new buildings and historical ones deserve to be admired. When first ones create modern atmospheres, the others keep memory on events of earlier days. Combination of these two functions makes a beautiful portrait of a city.