Some people believe that modern architecture has made cities more attractive in the last century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, the discussion surrounding modern architecture is very debatable and many people do not seem to reach a consensus. Particularly in the light of its uniqueness and individuality. Many people validly point out that counties did not lose their individuality and uniqueness as architecture spans back thousands of years ago and every county has its own geographical conditions. This essay will delve into the reasons why this phenomenon is not completely truthful and argue that overall, it is unlikely to happened.

First, it is unjustifiable to say that every city has lost its uniqueness, as architecture is a national heritage that plays a significant role in shaping the history of the country. For instance, tourists come to visit a country and have a desire to become acquainted with its history. To do so, they visit prominent and ancient landmarks that were built a long time ago. Therefore, every country has its own visual outlook, heritage and landmarks that shape its identity and atmosphere. That is one of the reasons why it is impossible for every city to look absolutely the same as there will always be something that differs.

Another primary reason why modern architecture did not lose its identity is due to geographical causes. It is widely acknowledged that every country differs in its geographical peculiarities. Consequently, what is possible to construct in one county, is very unlikely to be built in another. For instance, skyscrapers are being built in numerous countries, such as Dubai, Moscow, etc. Nevertheless, there are some countries in which there is completely unsimilar architecture due to its water surroundings. For example, Italy’s atmosphere is incomparable to Dubai’s as they represent completely different architecture and atmosphere. Therefore, even though there are numerous prominent architecture trends today, there will never be such a case that all cities look the same as it is simply impossible.

In conclusion, even though there are many architecture trends existing, they are spread only partially. Therefore, architecture of every county has its own specialty as it spans back thousands of years and something that was built in one country, simply can not be re-created in another.