Some people believe that modern technology has a positive effect on the way people communicate, while others think it has negative effects. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? Give a personal example from your own experience.

It is modern technology that has sparked a widespread debate on whether devices have a positive impact on the peoples’ communication. From my perspective, although digital technologies can lead to degradation of the social skills, I tend to believe that they have a positive impact on society due to the worldwide communication.

On the one hand, modern technologies may join people across the world despite the location. This is primarily because digital devices and the Internet can connect on the one network different social groups in every region of the planet. Furthermore, a circle of friends that share similar hobbies can be significantly expanded and no longer depends on the local popularity . For example, I have built strong friendships on common interests in various fandoms and social media from different countries, which cannot be able without modern technologies.

On the other hand, simplicity of online conversations can lead to degradation of the social skills. Not only may individuals prefer devices rather than real social experience, but they also may struggle with degraded body language. The key reason is that online chatting express only messages, but important in real conversations factors such as body language would be ignored. Consequently, exacerbating the problem of degradation, people would lose confidence in gaining real world experience. However, a balance of using devices and real conversotions can significantly weaken effect of the social isolation.

In conclusion, although digital devices might lead to reducing communication skills, they can reduce geographical limitations, allowing people to communicate beyond physical borders.