Some people believe that professional athletes serve as positive role models for young people, while others argue that their behavior both on and off the field can have a negative influence. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is a notion that unmannered actions showed by expert sportmen whether they are on the court or not, adversely affect the immatured’s conceptualization. However, I am against this opinion as they are a figure of discipline and dedication that every people should follow.

On the one hand, many parents are afraid that their children may mirror the negative expressions and actions that sport players make when they are present. It is easy to understand as even the top players in the world would often find it hard to hide their strong emotions such as anger and rage on the field when they performed badly or lose a match which young observer can watch and mimic because they might think it is a cool and mature thing to do. Additionally, there are usually some scandalous news about those players like drugs abuse or violence that add up to the negative perceptions that caregivers already had. Take, Carolina Marin – a Spanish badminton pro player, as an example, although she is an Olympic champion, she usually displays antagonistic actions such as: high-pitched celebrations at every points, smashing her rackets when she lose and uncontrolled expressions which parents do not want their children to mimic.

On the other hand, professional sportmen are a strong model for the juvenile to look up to. Since the majority of successful athletes all have to go through extensively hard training process, which required steel-like disciplinary mind and unshakable dedication. These will positively lead the youth to achieve goals and master in every aspects of life. For instance, N’golo Kante, an African footballer, who was born in a poor village dreamt of being a professional player. By constant practice and tremendous efforts spent, he was able so sign a contract with one of the biggest club in the world.

In conclusion, sport players may sometime not be able to regulate their behavior in certain situation simply because they are still mere human beings so mistakes are unavoidable. Despite this, they are still appropriate figures of hardworking and not giving up for the young to pursue.