Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whilst many think that professional workers owe a debt to the country they trained in. I believe they should be free to work where they choose because they can make more money.

On the one hand, professionals often receive considerable funding from their government to become fully qualified. It is only fair that they should repay this support by working in that place. This is because they often do j0bs that greatly benefit society, and this is why their government invested in them in the first place. For example, the UK spends millions of pounds training junior doctors through university tuition fees and on-the job training.

However, every individual should have the opportunity to reach their maximum potential. Those employed in the professions are some of the world’s most highly skilled workers. Therefore, they are in huge demand. There is a global market for their skilled, and they can command much higher salaries by moving abroad. If they were blocked from doing so, it would be a substantial financial disadvantage for the individual. For instance, petroleum engineers can make hundreds of thousands of dollars more in oil-rich countries, such as Saudi Arabia, compared to remaining in Europe.

I agree that the individual’s right to work wherever they please trumps any nationalistic considerations.

In conclusion, although there is a tremendous amount of investment in a professional’s development, they should have the right to choose whether to repay that by working in their home state, or moving to a region that pass them the highest value for their skills.