Some people believe that protecting endangered animals is a waste of time and money, these resources should be spent on other areas that are beneficial to humans. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A multiple of individuals argue that the protection of threatened animals leads to an excessive time and financial resources, and would contend that these resources should be allocated to other fields which offer significant advantages for human beings. While I acknowledge the reasoning for this argument, I opine that it is for the sake of our existence to put more efforts into the conservation of wildlife.

Granted, it is understandable why some people assert that a large amount of time and financial gains are being spent on the preservation of wild animals. According to this viewpoint, the last few decades have witnessed a great investment in time and expenditure among multiple nations globally in order to prevent the extinction of endangered species. Nevertheless, despite prolonged efforts and excessive spending, the demise of these animals seems to be inevitable. In addition, these resources, to them, should be allotted to address urgent issues facing the world like unemployment, poverty, and natural disasters, as such problems undoubtedly require substantial state funds to mitigate and overcome. Compared to these pressing concerns, the fight against the disappearance of wild animals seems to be an unworthy cause.

Regardless of the reasoning above, I am of the opinion that wild animals have an inseparable relationship with our life, so they are worth the allocation of time and public funding. Firstly, Biodiversity plays a crucial role in maintaining ecosystem stability and resilience as each species contributes to the web of life. Hence, the vanishing of a single species can lead to catastrophic implications and disrupt ecological balance. A prime illustration is the extinction of pollinators like bees, which are instrumental in crop productivity, could jeopardize the pollination process, leading to decreased crop produce and impacting food security. Additionally, animals on verge of extinction also bring about the development of tourism. This can be seen in multiple national zoos the world over, where species facing extinction are in captivity, such as saolas, giant pandas, and amur leopards have attracted countless visits both locally and worldwide. This contributes to an increase in great revenue as well as public awareness of the wildlife.

In conclusion, although there are compelling reasons why time and government budgets diverted to animals in danger are wasteful, I strongly feel that it is in the interest of the survival of mankind to deter the demise of wild animals.