Some people believe that reading books is a better way to gain knowledge than watching videos. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, some people think that watching films and serials is better than reading literature. This trend has attracted both positives and negatives attention. I completely disagree with this statement.

Firstly, one compelling reason to support this view is that eyesight does not deteriorate. This means that if you are always watching movies, the eyes are straining and vision is going badly, but reading books has no effect on people’s eyesight. A clear example of this can be seen in research conducted by professors of Nazarbayev University, more than 60% of students suffer from vision problems, due to spending all their time on the computer.

Furthermore, another important point is the big vocabulary of words and a great outlook. The explanation for this is when people spend time reading stories, hence they have a large stock of words and are competent to express thoughts. A good illustration of this is my uncle, in his free time he watches serials, especially k-dramas, due to this, his vocabulary of words has decreased and he has become worse at expressing thoughts.

Finally, it is undeniable that critical thinking and imagination develops. This stems from the fact that books often make people think more deeply about the story. For instance, according to research from Oxford University, most people develop critical thinking by reading novels or classic literature.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that spending time with books is better and more useful. This is because health does not deteriorate, large vocabulary, and critical thinking develops.Ultimately, the evidence clearly supports this position.