Some people believe that reading is always a good habit. Others feel it depends on which books a person is reading. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Many people argue that reading is beneficial and can expand an individual’s knowledge whilst others disagree and claim that certain kinds of books can have a negative impact on knowledge and behaviour. In my opinion, while reading allows individuals to develop and broaden their perspectives, it is important to be mindful of the content that we read as it can shape our thoughts and actions.

On the one hand, a significant number of research has proved that reading enhances our brain connectivity and strengthens our mental capacity. It can also help prevent diseases such as dementia or Alzheimer’s disease in older age. For instance, a recent study showed that those who constantly engage in reading are 30% less likely to experience physical signs of dementia and long-term cognitive decline.

On the other hand, I believe that what we read can significantly impact our behaviour and beliefs. Nowadays, people can easily share articles and opinions online, which can lead to the spread of conspiracy theories and misconceptions. It is possible that someone can read a lot but focus on misinformation. This can be particularly dangerous, especially when it comes to health decisions. For example, some people refused to get vaccinated against COVID-19 due to fake news and hoaxes. This not only put themselves at risk but also jeopardized the lives of the most vulnerable members of our society.In conclusion, while reading provides numerous benefits, such as gaining a broader perspective, I believe that the information and evidence contained within the book are even more crucial. Therefore, it is of utmost importance to pay attention to what we read and where we obtain our sources from.