Some people believe that schools should focus more on teaching practical skills, such as financial management and communication, rather than traditional subjects like history and literature.

Educational institutes should give more attention to practical skills like budgeting and communication that is believed by many people. Adopting this notion will foster student’s future life. While, others argue that traditional subjects like history and language helps pupils to learn more about society and the world. I partially agree with this phenomenon, because both skills and subjects are essential for student’s academic and professional growth.

To begin with, practical skills of finance and communication help people to adjust in society and boost the confidence level. To explain, by budgeting, a person can easily know about the savings, investments and banking, which is important for securing and attaining financial stability. Whereas, sharing thoughts and ideas help in building new relationship as well as strengthen old bonds. This further helps in balancing work and personal life. These are skills that students learn through experience. To cite an example, a report was published by the IIT School of Engineering, renowned corporations and companies like TATA and Reliance recruit those candidates who have academic as well as skills like dealing with staff, problem solving. Hence, in order to get high-paying job, a person should have skills.

Conversely, history, culture and moral values can be learnt by studying traditional skills. To be more precise, these subjects assist pupil to enrich their knowledge about the famous personalities like painters, novelists and freedom fighters. Along with this, they gather information about the cultural differences, food varieties, and significance of the events. In addition, learning different languages improves bonding. For example, an article was published in the Hindustan Newspaper highlights the influence of Western culture on Indian culture. It was reported that Indian youth celebrate New Year, Christmas instead of celebrating Holi and Diwali. It is happening because of less knowledge about the significance. As a result, this increases the generation gap and causes conflicts.

To conclude, both knowledge of traditional subjects and practical skills are essential. With these two, individual can lead confident life and easily adjust in the society.