Some people believe that schools should focus on academic studies, while others think they should teach life skills to children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The debate between prioritizing between life skills and academic studies at school has been a polarizing issue. While some argue that school should prioritize curriculum education because of their positive effects on cognitive abilities such as critical thinking and reasoning, others contend that they should teach life skills as it helps children with overall personality development. This essay will explore both perspectives and ultimately argue that teaching life skills is more effective in fostering overall growth, given its numerous advantages.

On the one hand, some claim that focusing on academic curriculum plays a prominent role in developing children’s mental capabilities like logical reasoning and thinking. Additionally, Focusing on traditional subjects like mathematics and physics will help children to gain the knowledge to apply them in real-world scenarios throughout their lives. For instance, a 2020 survey conducted by the Human Journal Council found that nearly 60% of students from Asian schools who primarily focussed on school syllabus were more likely to be self-dependent in adulthood. However, while focus on academic studies fosters well-rounded mental capabilities, it often overlooks the importance of teaching life skills for overall holistic development.

On the other hand, proponents emphasize that the knowledge of life lessons instills a sense of responsibility among children. Moreover, children will be well-prepared for any uncertain challenges which helps them with social and personal growth. To exemplify this, a study published by the World Health Organization explained that 80% of students in Canada, where schools prioritize life lessons abilities, were more likely to be responsible in school and at home. Therefore, this finding strongly suggests that teaching life skills is pivotal for overall well-being.

In conclusion, although the school curriculum enhances mental abilities like thinking power and logical reasoning, I firmly believe that the advantages of focussing on practical skills in terms of well-rounded holistic development far outweigh its drawbacks.