Some people believe that social media platforms, such as Facebook and Instagram, prevent people from forming personal relationships, others argue that these platforms bring people together. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People’s opinions on social media are divided, with some believing that platforms such as Facebook and Instagram are harmful to personal relationships, while others have positive feedback. In the following paragraphs, I will explore how these two opinions may be. This essay will explore both perspectives, presenting benefits of social media and profoundly negative sides.

Firstly, the internet has a significant influence on people’s free time and life choices, which negatively impacts their health because of a lack of sleep. For instance, many young people spend a lot of time on Instagram and other platforms without considering time. This way, they scroll through news feeds and entertaining content for hours, staying awake all night. Young people often sacrifice their sleep to follow all the trends and make reels with their friends instead of spending a couple of hours together in cafes and visiting each other, as in the past. Furthermore, kids and young adults check the platforms at every spare minute at work and during studies, which severely impacts their productivity and teamwork at the end of the day. Thus, social media is considered a harmful influence on forming connections between people in daily life.

On the other hand, people argue that social media has improved our quality of life by bringing many people who live far away from each other together. Often, a new generation has many opportunities to study and work abroad, which negatively affects their personal relationships with families and friends left in their hometowns. However, social media changes everything by becoming an online world where people can not only text each other and send pictures from their new homes but also video call and even send short video messages. This way of communication is especially convenient when busy schedules prevent many young people from having a full live conversation, and they can simply share a small thought via a filmed story on Instagram. For this reason, social media serves as a solution to bridge the gap between people separated by distance and time zones in foreign countries.

To conclude, people with differing viewpoints may say that social media is breaking the bonds between many relationships, while others tend to say that platforms like Instagram have the potential to fix communication problems. In my opinion, social media platforms have more pros than cons, as modern people have the opportunity to communicate remotely with beloved relatives and friends and stay up-to-date with work tasks by having online meetings with colleagues from other parts of the world.