Some people believe that song lyrics which glorify violence and criminal lifestyles should be banned. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of such a ban.

Some individuals hold the view that song lyrics dedicated to brutality and criminal lifestyle should be prohibited. Banning such songs may discourage people from breaking the law and committing crimes, but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account.

First of all, one benefit of forbidding criminal song lyrics is the promotion of a safer and more harmonized society. Music has a striking impact on individuals, especially on the younger generation. Due to youngsters’ innocence, they can be easily influenced by criminal lyrics and eventually lead a similar lifestyle. Secondly, restricting music content that glorifies violence may mitigate the probability of normalizing and imitating criminal demeanor. This could potentially reduce, for instance, crime activities inspired by these lyrics and contribute to the overall community’s well-being.

On the other hand, one issue when a certain music genre is banned is that it concerns the freedom of expression. In other words, music is a form of art where people are able to express their emotions and concerns; consequently, if musicians and artists have limited ability to share their ideas or values, the creativity and variety within the music industry will drastically decrease. To give an example, for some individuals who have experienced negative effects of living in violent and criminal environments music can contribute as therapy and remedy, because they are able to release all negativity and emotions accumulated through their lifetime.

In conclusion, while prohibiting violent song lyrics can be beneficial for community and juveniles, it can also lead to limiting artists’ ability to express themselves authentically.