Some people believe that students should be allowed to choose their own subjects in school, while others think that a set curriculum is more beneficial. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In our globalized world, the importance of subjects in school divides people’s opinions. Some argue that, in order for students to work as professionals in their future careers, they should be allowed to choose and study the subjects they need, while others emphasize that school-based programs are the best choice for pupils. From my point of view, students should focus more on the subjects they are interested in or need for their future. However, they should also have some knowledge of other subjects.

Nowadays, more and more school-based programs include many subjects. As a result, students can find themselves in very difficult situations with little time for personal life and rest. Students may also not have enough time to study the subjects they need to gain admission to the universities they want to attend. This can contribute to the increase in unemployment worldwide. Even if a person has a diploma, they may struggle to find a well-paying job if they lack relevant experience in their field.

On the one hand, starting from the upper grades, academics should focus increasingly on the subjects related to their chosen professions. For example, lawyers should mainly study law and history, whereas economists must be proficient in math. They generally do not need to study additional sciences such as physics, biology, and chemistry. On the other hand, in private life, having some knowledge of other subjects in addition to their professional expertise can be beneficial. For instance, if there is a car accident, a lawyer and an economist might not be able to provide first aid until the ambulance arrives if they lack even basic knowledge of human anatomy. Considering all this, many countries in Europe have divided school curricula into basic and compulsory subjects according to the students’ needs.

In conclusion, allowing students to specialize in their career interests while also covering a broad range of subjects offers the best preparation for both professional and personal success.