Some people believe that students should learn a foreign language from primary school,while others think it should begin in secondary school.Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Learning foreign languages is important for children, and many people have different opinions about when is the best time to start learning. Some people think students should begin learning foreign languages in primary school, while others believe it is better to start in secondary school. This essay will discuss both views and give my opinion.

On the one hand, starting to learn foreign languages at primary school has many benefits. First of all, young children learn languages faster because their brains are still developing. They can remember words easily and have good pronunciation. Also, starting early helps students to use the language for a longer time. For example, if a student starts learning English at age 6, by the time they finish school, they will have many years of practice. This gives them better language skills in the future.

On the other hand, some people think secondary school is a better time to learn foreign languages. They believe that older students have more ability to understand grammar and complex ideas. Also, in primary school, children already have to learn many new things like reading, writing, and maths. Adding a foreign language may be too much for them. In secondary school, students are more mature and can focus better on difficult subjects.

In my opinion, it is better to start learning a foreign language at primary school. Even if children are not perfect, they can still learn basic vocabulary and get used to the sounds of the language. This early start can help them in the future when they study more seriously in secondary school.

In conclusion, while some people believe foreign languages should be taught in secondary school, I think it is more useful to begin in primary school because young children learn languages faster and can get more practice.