Some people believe that studying a foreign language is only useful for people who intend to travel or work abroad. Others, however, argue that learning a new language provides significant benefits regardless of whether a person leaves their home country or not.

It is widely discussed that learning foreign languages is beneficial only for those who plan on leaving their country for tourism, continuing their studies or their careers, while others consider that learning languages opens an abundance of opportunities beyond simple travel or work purposes. Although the majority of people tend to believe that the primary aim of a foreign language is feeling comfortable abroad, it can also enrich cultural diversity and expand the worldview.

Learning a language that is spoken in the country where individuals plan to visit is not just important, but crucial. Firstly, it allows tourists to freely communicate abroad, which secures their integration into the society and in resolving affairs that they can encounter. Without this knowledge, it will be difficult to orientate in a foreign habitat. In order to prompt a comfortable stay, it is, thus, important to study the language. Secondly, in the professional framework, employees are often required to acquire a solid knowledge of a foreign language by their employers due to the purposes of their stay in a certain country: international projects, meetings with representatives of the country, or the preparation of legal documents. To complete these points, corporations are taking responsibility to educate their employees. These reasons are the most frequent when it comes to why learning foreign languages is advantageous.

Learning languages without any specific reason impacts the perception of the world and helps to discover new cultural traditions. According to the main subject of analytical philosophy, language is the only way we can understand how narrow our perception is. There are some expressions that do not exist in our native one; however, they are used by others on a daily basis and assist in the better expression of emotions, thoughts and ideas. Thus, mastering foreign languages helps us to elaborate our perception and express ourselves in the clearest and the most flawless way possible. Moreover, we can easily dive into new cultures, where we can better understand this world.

Overall, while studying languages can secure a comfortable stay in foreign environments, it can also impact our reasoning and critical thinking skills.