Some people believe that studying at a university or college is the best route to a successful career. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that to have a successful career, students should attend university or college because this is the best way. I strongly disagree with this statement. This essay will first discuss about vocational training is a key of success and second, being an entrepreneur by starting up a business should be an option to succeed in career.

Firstly, vocational training institutes will help their learners to become successful. Attending these training programs, students have a chance to acquire first-hand experience and skills due to more practical activities not just only theories. This will be a benefit for them to apply for a job to companies which require working experience. Besides that, this may lead to promotions and a successful career. A good example of this is Doan Ngoc Diep, who owns one of the biggest private enterprises in Vietnam, became successful even though he just only attended a mechanical vocational program.

Moreover, starting up a business and being an entrepreneur is also an option for people who know their own strengths and abilities. Self-employment will be an opportunity for them to unlock their potential and invest in self-improvement. Bill Gates, for instance, decided not to go to university and founded Microsoft with other co-founders. Without Bachelor degree, Microsoft is still one of the successful corporations in computer software.

In conclusion, universities and colleges are not the best way that leads to success. I strongly believe that gaining practical experience through vocational training programs or a startup is a key of success.