Some people believe that studying history is very important and we must study the past to understand the present. Others say that it is useless and should not be studied at all. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The question of learning history is dual. On one hand, it may seem pointless due to the fact that our lives have changed beyond recognition and the historic occasions, taking place in the past, look completely irrelevant to the modern ones. But on the other hand, contrary to popular believe, it is not as far as many people think and can help to learn valuable lessons and avoid repetition of the same mistakes.

To begin with, some people argue that the history is an unnecessary subject because live in the past bread little resamblance to these days. Indeed, cutting-ege technonogy has provoken rapid developing in many spheres. Additionally, our ancestors had never faced with the problem of uncontrolled artificial intelligence or overpopulation, that is why the previous experience may seem inappropriate. Next reason is that although mankind has already encountered huge number of wars, the history almost doesn’t help to prevent new ones. For example, although it has not been that long since humanity faced the first and the second world wars, new terrible wars recently has started again. In this point there is a sensible question- why should people learn history if non of the previous historic experiences are worthless to prevent wars and solve contemporary problems.

It is precisely this reason the history should be learnt properly, because in this case it provides a lot of benefits such as a link between past and present. For instance, it can be extremely useful to understand results of historical blunders to glean invaluable lessons and avoid repetition of devastating consequences. The other thing is that it can help to set more successfully interaction between countries by explaining attitudes between countries, showing the local traditions and and peculiarities. Moreover, it can help not only for politics, but also ordinary people, when they are travelling or just trying to make friends in foreign countries.

In conclusion, although due to some reasons learning history is viewed as worthless, it can be an essential key to prevent many problems and set strong relationships between people, if it is used properly.