Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion. Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Education is one of the most discussed topics worldwide, especially, when it comes to basic education. Basic education lays the foundation of growth for a human being. Hence, it should be given serious thought and utmost importance.

Thought traditional schooling is the most sought after method, debates have always been going on, quantifying between its pros and cons with home schooling.As a teacher, I believe that I can make a comparison between the both in a better sense that most others.

Traditional schooling imbibes a sense of independence in students. Away from the eyes of their parents and loved ones, in the six to eight hours they spend in schools, they learn to fend for and make a decision for themselves. This method also trains children socially, giving them a chance to know and mingle with people from all stratas of society and life. They get to taste the sourness and sweetness of life, which is very essential for their journey of life ahead. After all, while all the fruits in the basket may look alluring, it is important to spot the rotten ones as well.

Home schooling is rather a guarded approach when compared to the former one. It gives lesser chances for students to deviate from their goals, keeping them away from almost everything dirty the society has to offer. Drugs, alcohol and tobacco are a few to be named. It is like the two blinders that keep the stallion’s eyes always on the road, never giving them a chance at distraction.

While both methods have their own advantages and disadvantages, I strongly believe that traditional schooling is a better choice. Education is all about learning about everything around us, regardless of them being good or bad. The goal of education is only achieved when we adapt the rights to our livesto make the world a better place for all around us.