Some people believe that technology has made man more social. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The recent development in technologies allowed people to interact with people all over the world without leaving home. This led to a debate among experts whether those new opportunities has made people more inclined to social interactions or caused the opposite. I strongly believe that the socialization levels have increased drastically. This essay will discuss both points of view in detail followed by examples to support the arguments.

Those in favour of a belief that modern gadgets led to people being more social state that it offers an ultimate tool people can use to socialize. This can be supported by a fact that advanced technologies provide man with means to communicate and interact with other people in distance. For example, WhatsApp and Zoom allow people from another part of the world to socialize with no boundaries, as it provides all possible ways to communicate including voice call, video call and text messaging.

On the other hand, one might argue that because of increased time spent on social networks and interaction through messengers people are reluctant to meet with their face to face. This is thought to be because of easiness of online interaction that people enjoy that they are unwilling to get out of their home to meet with friends. In other words, it is claimed that people have become less social in its traditional meaning of interacting and socializing in real life. However, it is evident that with advancement of technologies it has become easier and more comfortable to plan and organize dinners and trips with friends and family. That is to claim that with smartphones everyone can get a reservation at a restaurant and book a family trip within a couple of minutes. Therefore, making the likelihood of meeting higher.

In conclusion, even though it can be argued that people are getting less social because of modern technologies, it is clear that those gadgets provide more opportunities to socialize both online and face to face than it causes harm to one’s social life.