Some people believe that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others think that this has little effects and other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, emphasis on physical fitness has sparked a debate about the role of sports in maintenance of public health. While critics believe that increasing the number of sports related facilities are extremely vital to keep one in the pink of their health, there are other dimensions to internal and external physical fitness which cannot be fully addressed through sports and require a dynamic range of activities

Sports involve rigorous physical movement which is essential for addressing the physical aspects of one’s health. Swimming, taekwondo and squash among others involve extensive physical activity including routine movement of bones, muscles and joints. For instance, a person who plays tennis around four days a week is bound to experience less body pain in contrast to someone who rarely engages in physical fitness and related tasks. Hence, promoting facilities for sports such as gyms, tennis courts, swimming pools, etc. along with sensitising people with the benefits these activities offer may foster better public health and an increase in people who want to partake in such activities. However, merely increasing such facilities does not address the broader picture.

Overall health also includes the mental aspects of well being. While sports play an eminent role in addressing physical health, it is not enough for a person to remain healthy for a longer time period. Aspects such as mental health, internal health, etc. must be given equal if not more reverence than physical health. Making people indulge in meditation and yoga, promoting a balanced diet, and exercises for breathing alongside sports is important for a fully rounded approach to health.

Hence, focusing on the larger picture and taking up a more combined approach towards health is needed for a hale and hearty population.