Some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others think there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a widespread belief that the most efficient solution to reduce crime is to provide longer jail sentences. In contrast, some people stick to the point that there are other feasible alternatives for dealing with this issue. While giving longer sentences might prevent further crimes commited by the same group of people, it is not always an effective way to reduce crime in general.

Increasing the longevity of stay for prisoners might be a reasonable approach. This development might encourage individuals not to break the law by commiting anything against the rules, since they would feel even more fear to spend longer times in prison. However, this can also lead to the temporary effect. Most of law breakers cannot be stopped by such a minor change and thus, will continue to spread chaos.

Alternative approaches are quite popular among a large number of society members too. It is disscused what precise path can be followed in order to improve the trend. For example, one research in Norway has shown that people who felt more pressure over the crime they have commited, are likely to break the law again. Therefore, searching and investigating various solutions to the problem to find a better way how to deal with it, is a sighnificantly better waste of time.

In conclusion, both views have the right to exist and be presented because they include both advantages and disadvantages. While supporting the idea of increased sentences can perform an effective yet unreliable improvement in reducing crime, observing situation from different perspectives and looking for the best approach is more beneficial.