Some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others think there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The debate over whether criminals should be sentenced for longer prisons in order to bring peace to the nations and public, remains a contentious issue. While some people think it is not the key to reduce the violence and believing there are other ways, In my point of view, the figure for the offence is likely to reduce if approached in a right way, such as proportional punishment with meaningful invention and increased rehabilitation programs.

On the one hand, applying longer prison sentences is not a bad idea, thinking of the peace of public. Furthermore, most of the offenders are likely to come back to the path they chose, meaning that they might still have the idea of committing crime in order to make a living, such as breaking in homes to steal money or some other stores to steal invaluable staffs like jewelry, if they feel challenge in right path. Illegal actions are way easier for them, as we use to assume make a living in a right path is easy.

On the other hand, it is not fair to trap them into prisons more than required amount of time. The particular reason for the malefactors to do illegal things, is that they cannot be accepted by employees to offices for work, because they want trustworthy employers for ease of work progress. Afterwards, they think that they can be a threat to the company and the environment of workplace, making other stuffs or customers stressed. In contrasts, they have no choice but doing what they are capable of doing which is crime

Insteadb of making long prison sentences, the government might approach in a creative ways with extended opportunities for rehabilitation, such as providing well paid jobs. In addition to this, psychological support is also equally vital. Therapy, anger-management training, and substance-abuse programs help offenders address the emotional and behavioural issues. Without such interventions, the risk of reoffending remains high.

In conclusion, without these supports by government the proportion of criminal activity remains at peak percentage. The extent of sentencing them for a long period makes more issues like overcrowded prisons and there may have arguments and fights among prisoners and it is overloading responsibilities for prison stuffs. However, with the new opportunities which government offers, it is easy to say they will live in a peaceful life like a regular person.