Some people believe that the best way to reduce global waste is to impose heavy taxes on companies that produce non-recyclable packaging. Others, however, argue that the responsibility should lie with individual consumers to change their buying habits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that the best way to reduce global waste is to impose heavy taxes on companies that produce non-recyclable packaging, while others believe that the responsibility should lie with individual consumers. Although both perspectives have their own merits, I believe that responsibilty should be taken by consumers. This essay will discuss both views before explaining why taxes should be imposed on companies producing non-recyclable packaging.

On the one hand, many people believe that the expansion of global waste is produced by companies. This is mainly because companies tend to have strong supply chain of delivering goods where they use plastic based materials. Additionally, by applying heavy taxes, production of polythene packaging will eventually be reduced and paper materials will get more priority as a safe substitution. Though plastics provide durability and safety of a product, it is still consider harmful to the surroundings because of its non-recyclable nature.

On the other hand, others argue that responsibilty should lie with individual consumers to change their buying habits since responsible citizens can adjust with the change. Although the previous argument may be valid to some extent, I believe that accountable person should change their purchasing habits because reduction on this habits will lead in reducing plastic manufracturing companies. Moreover, replacement of these global waste are easily availabe in the market which doesn’t harm the environment for instance using paper or glass will reduce the use of plastic packaging.

In conclusion, while some people support the idea that companies should be imposed with heavy taxes, others believe that self-conciousness is necessary. Personally, I believe that one should be responsible for selecting the best alternatives. Ultimately, this approach would lead to reduction of global waste and broader future development.