Some people believe that the government should fund art and culture, while others think that it should only fund sciences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

More nations are shifting their high percentage of budgets to support the developments on science and technology more than arts. In my opinion, although supporting arts and culture means the protecting and improving nations heritage, investing on science, and engineering related areas is more beneficial for them.

Despite the fact that art and culture is mostly funded by governments, corporates and rich families, it has always been the most important way to express feelings and free way to rise voice against wrong things happening around the world. For example, when Picasso painted Guernica on a wall against Nazis, many people find courage to fight in the world war against rising fascist leaders. It is always used as symbol of freedom and expression to depict reality of century.

Nevertheless, society’s wealth and wellbeing are improved due to developments on science and technology. Before the industrial revolution, there were not enough hospitals or doctors for all citizens. Also, being a sick or having a virus would end up with potential death for an individual. Developments on vaccines resulted a dramatical decrease on the number of deaths around world due to viruses.

Another reason for investing on science and technology is that it supports nation’s economy. Funding different industries encourage businessman, engineers to start-up new companies and open factories. For instance, opening a war ship factory requires thousands of employees which supports local economy. In addition, it also increases the nation’s defence system in a potential war threat.

In conclusion, even though art and culture is valuable to keep nations heritage, it is inevitable for governments to support science and technology more than arts.