Some people believe that the government should pay full course fees for students who want to study at universities. Others argue that students should pay the tuition themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe university fees should be covered by the government, so all the social classes, who can’t afford high level education, can access to higher education, while others argue that students should pay for themselves to avoid draining the public funds. However, I believe the former school of thought is more preferable, because higher education must be available for everyone.

Students should take full responsibility for their own education expenses to avoid straining government resources. Students from high backgrounds can easily afford the tuition fees and living expenses, having the state funding these individuals would be unjust towards those who comes from modest backgrounds. For example, in Turkey, the individuals from wealthy families pursues further studies in public schools, which are completely funded by government, but show off their wealth with their high-end clothing and cars, yet not covering their expenses, burdening public fundings. However, I believe that all the students are fundamentally human who deserves to pursue tertiary education to achieve better life.

The state must allocate a budget for its citizens who wishes to pursue further education to preserve equality in all social classes. The individuals from economically disadvantaged backgrounds wouldn’t be able to access university level education, therefore the government must took the initiative to make it accessible to all. For example, the doctors of the former generations in Turkey, often come from impoverished backgrounds, and was able to study medicine thanks to the governments merit-based system. I am opinion that the government funding the higher education is for the best.

In conclusion, although the government funding the full course fees would strain the taxpayers money, I believe everyone deserves to seek for better life opportunities.