Some people believe that the government should spend more money putting in more works of art like paintings and statues in cities to make them better places to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a widespead notion that more budget should allocated in embellishing the urban cities with artworks like: paintings or monuments to improve the urban lives. However, I strongly disagree with this assentation.

First and foremost, the constructions of these artworks necessitates not only some significant financial resources but also a substantial land allocation. Given the limited urban living space, it is impractical to erect the excessive statues and monuments in the cities. While paintings do not demand a considerable land, these works of art require the meticulous preservation against the weather conditions or corrosion which might be too exorbitant to afford. If it was not for the pricey cost of constructing and maintaining statues and paintings, the urban citizens would possess a aesthetically pleasing environment and they could foster a sense of community. Instead, it is advisable that the authorities can invest the budget in numerous sport centers or entertainment facilities so as to help the residents live better.

Moreover, the government is confronted with a plethora of pressing tasks such as: traffic congestion, environmental contamination and medical issues. The remarkable allocation for building, upgrading and maintaining the traffic systems is a prime example. Besides, medical centers might need to be heightened in the aftermath of Covid-19 pandemic. Last but not least, formulation and implementation of various environmental policies can be imperative due to the accelerating threat of climate change and global warming. Hence, these urgent issues should be taken precedence over the erection of monuments and paintings so as to enhance urban living quality.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that the authorities have to prioritize these alarming obstacles above over building and putting paintings and sculptures to improve the quality of the urban lives.