Some people believe that the main benefit of international cooperation is in the protection of the environment, while others maintain that the major profit is the development of world business. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, whether cross-border cooperation is beneficial for tackling environmental degradation or enhancing business activities is a controversial issue. I personally agree with both sides and my reasons will be further explained in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, it is justifiable that increasing effectiveness in the protection of the environment requires commitment and collaboration at international level. This is because a single effort from just one country is insufficient as many issues, including climate change, pollution or loss of biodiversity, are happening in every corner of the world and having adverse impacts on many aspects. Therefore, international cooperation can facilitate the creation of environmental treaties and regulations, fostering a sense of shared responsibility. For instance, some developed countries can provide financial and technological assistance to some disadvantaged countries, where environmental issues are not effectively solved due to the lack of advanced knowledge and resources.

On the other hand, it is also reasonable to claim that global business can benefit from collaboration among countries in the world. This can be explained by the fact that globalization opens up a host of opportunities for many foreign enterprises to invest in some countries regardless of geographical borders. Not only does this investment help these firms get greater access to wider markets and increase their customer base, it also creates more employment opportunities for the countries receiving foreign investment. Another advantage that is worth mentioning lies in the improvement of trade exchange. For example, some countries, such as Vietnam and Thailand, can act as suppliers of agricultural produce, while European countries can export their advanced technology equipment to developing nations. This can also result in the growth in the sales of national products and global economic integration.

In conclusion, cooperation among countries in the world still plays a vital role. From a personal standpoint, I believe that global collaboration is advantageous for both environmental protection and business development.