Some people believe that the main benefit of international cooperation is in the protection of the environment, while others maintain that the major profit is the development of world business. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, whether the worldwide collaboration enhances the protection of the government or boosts up the development of international business activities is a controversial issue. I personally agree with both sides and my reasons will be further explained in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, the practical initiatives of transnational partnership bring several benefits to the environment. Firstly, as many environmental crimes are increasingly operated cross-border, governments must collaborate to detect and diminish these activities. Take the case of timber smuggling in Southeast Asian nations, if there is only one nation striving to defend the forest from thieves, it will only result in contemporary eradication. The stolen woods’ demands remain unchanged in other countries, which are the opportunities for illegal wood to be consumed. Therefore, the establishment of federal protection throughout Southeast Asia plays a vital role to destroy the illegal timber production line. Secondly, intercontinental cooperation allows regions to learn from each other and create mutual responsibilities in preserving habitats. Particularly, developed countries can offer financial and technological support to undeveloped ones, which lack wealth and knowledge.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that international businesses can take a grant of unlimited cooperation around the world. This can be explained by the fact that companies can expand their market in different countries regardless of geographical borders. While collaborating with foreign nations, not only do firms increase their revenues and prestige, they also can eradicate poverty by creating job opportunities in disadvantaged areas. Moreover, multinational corporations can enjoy attractive economic incentives from foreign nations, thus helping them save additional costs on tax and more. For example, the European Union is a unique partnership between 27 European countries, which helps its members increase trade, funding and investment, as well as upgrade social, environmental and consumer standards.

In conclusion, I believe that international cooperation is a positive trend for both the environment and the economy and therefore, should be encouraged.