Some people believe that time spent on television, video, and computer games can be valuable for children. Others believe this may have negative effects on a child's development. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Technological innovations such as television and computers are generally considered an imperative part of current circumstances. However, there are certain deleterious effects that are also being generated for children, such as addiction, lack of concentration, and poor education. Therefore, my contention is that although technological innovations have ample advancements, they have some detrimental impacts on children’s academics.

On the one hand, a myriad of people believes that modern technologies aid children in developing digital literacy, research skills, critical thinking, and problem-solving capacity. Besides, computer games are part of an entertainment system that helps to mitigate mental stress in their lives. For instance, recent studies conducted by a group of experts globally delineate that more than 80% of children who are utilizing modern technologies have lower stress levels and are more active. Moreover, these innovations help to provide different learning experiences that are more engaging and efficient.

On the other hand, even though spending enough time with TV and computers has certain advantages, it also has some hazardous effects, such as dependency, issues affecting mental and physical well-being, and a sedentary lifestyle. A recent survey indicates that excessive screen time leads to social isolation, poor communication skills, and negative interpersonal relationships. Furthermore, while academics are an elementary factor for every child, the overuse of these innovations is escalating certain health issues such as anxiety, depression, and addiction.

In summary, in this sophisticated world, school learning and academics are more reliant on modern technological innovations such as computers and television. However, I believe that recently, students are using this technology more for gaming and other entertainment purposes rather than academics. Therefore, authorities and parents need to prevent children from accessing these technologies excessively.