Some people believe that tourism promotes the economy while other argue that tourism destroy the environment. Discuss both views.

People have different opinions regarding the role of tourism. While there are a number of valid reasons why many individuals hold the perception that tourism damages the ecosystem, I strongly support the viewpoint that tourism uplifts the economy.

On the one hand, there are several causes why people might argue that tourism destroys the environment. To begin with, tourism creates pollution when visitors travel to tourist places such as sea beaches, parks, and hills; they often throw toxic materials such as plastics, straws, and glasses, which might be washed by rainwater into the sea and river. As a result, it pollutes the water of the sea and river. Sometimes, fishes, like whales, octopuses, and other mammals, consume these materials, which is the main reason behind the death of ocean biodiversity. Another reason is that people destroy forests and the homes of endangered species for building tourism-related services and infrastructures, namely hotels, motels, restaurants, and parks. As a consequence, carbon dioxide levels are increasingly rising in the atmosphere; that is why global warming is now a significant problem around the world.

On the other hand, in spite of the above arguments, I am backing the view that tourism contributes to enhancing the economy. Firstly, tourism is a great way to earn foreign currency. To be more precise, travelers often visit another country and buy products and services there, which is a great opportunity for a nation to earn foreign money. For instance, Thailand earns a huge amount of money every year through tourism. Secondly, tourism creates a huge number of job vacancies in many tourism-related sectors. For example, hotels, transport, visa centres, tour guides, and tourist souvenir shops require a lot of workers, which could be a great source of income for unemployed people. As a result, the rate of unemployment is reduced, and it helps to boost the country’s economy.

In conclusion, for the logical reasons described above, I can understand why some people think that tourism demolishes nature, but it seems to me that tourism plays a significant role in a country’s economy.