Some people believe that tourism promotes the economy while other argue that tourism destroy the environment. Discuss both views.

People have different views about the role of tourism. While there are a number of plausible reasons why many individuals hold the perception that tourism demolishes the ecosystem, however, I strongly support the viewpoint that tourism represents the economy.

There are several reasons why people might argue that tourism spoils the nature. To begin with, to build tourism-related services and infrastructure like hotels, motels, theme parks, we are cutting down the forest and destroying the homes of many endangered animals. As a result, the level of oxygen in our atmosphere is reducing and ultimately harming the biodiversity. Another reason is that tourism creates pollution and waste. Tourists often throw toxic materials into the environment, such as plastic bags, straws, etc., and these things take long time to decompose which reduce the soil fertility and impact the agriculture. For instance, every year many blue whale dies because of consuming plastic waste.

In spite of the above arguments, I am backing the view that tourism contributes to flourish the financial condition. Firstly, many tourism-associated sectors like hotels, bars, transport, entertainment, tour guides create huge employment opportunities, and by working there many unemployed individuals can earn handsome salary and give their family a better life. Secondly, through tourism, the government of a country may gain a huge amount of foreign exchange from the visitors and through foreign investment. When a tourist comes from outside, to get tourism-related services they have to pay taxes besides this if any company want to run a business in a different they must also pay taxes. A prime example of this is that a significant proportion of Thailand’s GDP comes from tourism sector every year.

In conclusion, for the logical reasons described above, I can understand why some people prefer that tourism damages the environmental conditions, but it seems to me that tourism plays a significant part to increase the economical circumstances.