Some people believe that universities should focus mainly on providing academic knowledge, while others argue that universities should also prepare students for the workplace.

There is an ongoing debate about whether universities should focus primarily on preparing students for employment or if they should adopt a broader education by integrating subjects such as the arts and humanities. While both perspectives have merit, I believe that universities worldwide should focus on educating and preparing students for employment as it provides a strong foundation and financial literacy.

On the one hand, many people argue that universities should prioritize employability. Given that the cost of higher education has risen markedly over the years, students expect a return on their investment in the form of stable employment. Many students possess student loans along with interest that piles up annually; students require a stable job that provides a reasonable salary in order to pay off these debts. Therefore, universities should begin preparing students for different industries in the labour market by catering to their needs.

On the other hand, universities that primarily focus on creative arts and humanities are just as beneficial. By pursuing the arts, learners develop strong communication skills which are helpful when interacting with other people. These practices foster a more interconnected society as well as cultivate a rich understanding of history, arts, and literature. As a result, a larger proportion of society is able to effectively communicate with one another which motivates the individual to connect with others and create a vibrant social life.

In conclusion, while prioritizing humanities and arts can benefit the individual, greater advantages can come from universities providing sufficient resources in preparation for employment. In my opinion, the latter would have a greater impact as it prepares students earlier, giving them a clear view on the next step to take.