"Some people believe that universities should focus on preparing students for specific careers, while others think the primary goal of university education should be to teach students general knowledge. Discuss both views and give your own opinion."

In the debate of the role of universities in students’ education, there are two main perspectives: some believe that higher education should be career-oriented, while others argue that its primary objective is developing general knowledge.

Before discussing the rationale behind both perspectives, it is important to first address the central issue itself. I believe the question suggests a teleological line of argument indicating that there is an expectation of the function that universities should fulfill and there are two popular opinions brought to light.

The first perspective, which argues that education should be career-oriented, focus on producing competent graduates. The abilities or skillsets required for students to be considered as competent depend on the state of the world. It is logical to say that the principle behind this argument is that the aim of higher education is about helping students to adapt to a rapidly changing world.

On the other hand, the second one, which argues the purpose of education is to help developing general knowledge, focuses more on the internal aspects. It claims that there is a fundamental knowledge that students-or even all humans-must acquire. This includes an understanding of the world such as society, science, political or even self-awareness.

In conclusion, when debating what universities should focus on, two popular opinions emerge. The first emphasizes the extension aspects and focuses more on the functional aspects of graduates, eventually guiding universities towards a career-oriented approach. The second focuses more on the internal aspects of human development, presuming that fundamental general knowledge is requirement for all individuals.