Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behavior. What is your opinion?

Violence has always been a frightening topic for everyone. While some people argue that presenting violence on the screen, such as on television and computers, can have bad influences on society, I agree with the ones who think that these factors do not really affect how people behave because of safety guidelines provided on media and online games nowadays.

On the one hand, television channels and online games have set strict rules of what to present to their audience. They create several definitions of content that are both allowed and prohibited, backed by the reasonings. For example, television channels restrict any programs that contain blood, physical attacks, and even death. The committee will check and detect each part of it, and if it appears, they can take down the show immediately. Similar to television, computer games also have community guidelines to warn everyone who has the possibility of showing criminal actions or harmful behaviors on the screen. Additionally, they limit the use of computer games by filtering the gamer’s profile based on age. Therefore, it can help them protect how people perceive what they see.

On the other hand, others think that violence appearing in media can generate harmful effects on society. They might think that it can shape people’s motives to commit a crime. However, there is no clear evidence that shows how presenting violence can cause people to misbehave. There are stronger factors that can lead someone to act violently, such as a poor socioeconomic situation or an arising conflict between certain parties. Therefore, I believe there is no direct correlation between showing violence in media and online platforms with people’s behavior.

In conclusion, I agree with the ones who believe that violent content on television and computer games has nothing to do with how people act violently because there are some restrictions created and enforced to protect the audience from doing so.